Iron Man 3

“I’m Tony Stark. I build neat stuff, got a great girl, occasionally save the world. So why can’t I sleep?” This is one of the many quotes that shows the snide, narcissistic character that is Tony Stark, or as he is also known, Iron Man. Robert Downey Jr.’s strongly written character is one of the many reasons the Iron Man franchise has become so beloved all across the internet, if not the main one. The third installment in the series sees the protagonist in a predicament, as the events that occurred in New York (a nice tie-in from The Avengers), are mentally affecting him and his ability to be a superhero.  Now, this leads to a qualm I have with this movie; there’s a large portion of the film where Tony Stark is NOT IRON MAN. I, like most others, watched the movie to see Iron Man flying around and blowing things up, and believe me, when he’s doing just that, it’s fantastic. I’m not saying that the portions where Tony Stark isn’t in the suit are bad, I’m just saying that I believe there are far too many of them. Another aspect of the film I was not too fond of is how underwhelming The Mandarin turned out to be. The trailer portrayed him as a ruthless terrorist, but upon finally meeting the most widely known antagonist from the actual comic books, it’s a bit of a letdown. I don’t want to spoil anything, but fans of the comics won’t be pleased. While the film definitely had its flaws, it undoubtedly had its strengths. As I stated before, Robert Downey Jr. nailed his role as always. However, he plays a different man in the third installment. Instead of being the carefree playboy he had been before, he merely plays that character. Stark is burdened down by his inner troubles, and I believe that it added a second dimension to the character. The action is done almost flawlessly. Every explosive sequence was candy to the eyes, and I couldn’t get enough. Additionally Guy Pearce, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Sir Ben Kingsley all did phenomenal jobs in their roles. In his blog post entitled Iron Man 3 Mega Review, Ryan Brown gives an in depth review for this film in which he brings up a few of the same points as I did, and some different ones as well.

 

Standard

One thought on “Iron Man 3

  1. Pingback: Iron Man 3 and Marvel’s Fandom As It Enters Phase 2 | Fandom Evolution

Leave a Reply

